Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Image

So last week I launched a photography business.
Now for clarification, I’m an experienced photographer, but I’ve never charged money for my photos, and one month ago I knew nothing at all about running a small business.

I knew perfectly well that there were things which I needed to do before being able to honestly call myself a business. Things like getting a business license, registering the business name with the state, opening a business account, buying various props, et cetera.

But when I received a phone call from my first official client literally hours after launching, I have to admit that I was caught flat-footed. I didn’t even have a pricing plan! I gave her a significant discount (partly to celebrate, and partly because she agreed to let me use her twin babies’ photos in my portfolio) but one thing that I wasn’t anticipating was her request to see a photo of myself, so her and her husband would know who to look for at the location.

How is it possible that a photographer and business owner, doesn’t even have a decent photograph of himself?? In a panic, I fumbled through old archives, Facebook posts, and my iPhone. I found several “decent” photos (i.e. professional-looking), but they were all basically taken during a phase when I was experimenting with low-key lighting, and frankly all looked scary! I wasn’t smiling, I had sharply contrasting light on my face, and some of them had been grunged up in Photoshop. Honestly, I looked more like a serial killer than a business owner. And she wanted me to photograph her children!

So in a panic, I sent her one of the friendlier looking pictures I had.
An iPhone selfie, taken in a bathroom mirror.
And then altered with Instagram.

Ugh.
Yes, I realize how utterly unprofessional that was! I realize that any smart client would probably run for the hills before trusting a photographer whose best self-portrait is an iPhone mirror selfie!
At least I wasn’t making a duck-face.
Nor was I shirtless.
Points for that, right?

ANYWAY…… I promised her that I’d take a decent photo this week and update the website, which I just did.
It’s still not going to win any awards (I’m used to being behind the camera, not in front of it. It’s hard to take a decent selfie!) but at least I look professional. IMHO.
She didn’t cancel the shoot, so I’m assuming she’s either very trusting, or else my discounted rate was so shockingly low that she figured what’s the harm in giving me a chance?
I hopefully won’t disappoint. 🙂
Like I said, I consider myself an experienced photographer; I’m just an utter newb when it comes to the business side of things. Hopefully I’ll have my ducks in a row and come across as a lot more professional when the next client calls. (I’ll also answer the phone, “Vanstry Photography,” instead of, “Hello?” …and I won’t ask them to hold on while I vacate the room so I can hear them over the dishwasher.)
Image